A Brief Insight to my Insanity

October 6, 2007 at 2:53 pm (cincinnati, fun, funny, humor, life, love, Uncategorized)

So I turned 28 this week.  Probably not really a big deal, but sort of.  Two years away from the big 3-0 (YIKES), solidly in my late 20’s.  Man.  I’m not really sure where I thought I would be at this point of my life, but it certainly wasn’t here.  Living in the sweet Midwest.  Living in the US at all for that matter.  No love-life to speak of.  Falling out of love with what once seemed like the greatest job.  Still not knowing what I really want to be doing with myself (but at least on the way there I hope).  Unsure how to prioritize the things that matter in my life.  Wondering what I’m doing, why, what matters??

So, obviously this has made me a little self reflective, which is good, BUT kind of withdrawn and depressing.  Sooooo…in the true K-Rock fashion, I had to find a way to make this fun.  So a friend and I (who also turned 28) decided to make a 30 by 30 list.  The GOAL: To make a list of 30 things to do before we turn 30.  The things on the list have to be:

  1. Within my control
  2. Something I haven’t done before
  3. Stretching yet achievable

So, on Tuesday my friend and I will share our lists – and we have a moderator to ensure that we both follow the guidelines.  The idea is that this will motivate me to do the things that I really want to do.  PLUS there is the added accountability. 

Trying to make “The List” further underscores how I really have no idea what I want to do.  The first 5 things were easy, but now its getting really tough to come up with things.  What do I want to do before I’m 30?  What can I actually control in my life?  How will I do them?  What if I can’t?

Questions, questions.

So, I will spend the weekend in turmoil, trying to come up with “The List” and I’ll publish it on Wednesday.  Sweet.  Stay tuned.

1 Comment

  1. aphlatoon said,

    where’s the list? I’m turned 28 yesterday and was curious to peek at ur list to do before u turn 30.

Leave a Reply

